25

My 25th birthday was definitely the best birthday ever (well, so far at least). Being in other country, immersing other culture, and depending myself completely on my own and God’s hand were gift that all I could ever ask.

This solo trip for my 25th birthday was planned months before. Right after AirAsia launched their promo. Hahahaha. Then why Japan? Why going on solo? Why on your birthday?

Well, I’m not a Japanese-culture-freak, but it’s autumn in Japan and I have several friends that have gone to Japan before who could give some advice. Plus they have a good Japanese friend as well. So, why not?

I have always traveled on group, traveling on 2 is the minimum. In my circle of friends, some of them like to travel alone. They encourage me to try it. They said that I will like it. And yes, it attested. I LOVE TO TRAVEL ALONE. You only have to negotiate with yourself. No drama.

自分探しの旅 – jibun sagashi no tabi – a journey of self-discovery. Those who watched Honey and Clover must know this phrase. The intention of this trip actually to have more time for myself. To fancy and contemplate. To savor the beauty of surroundings without any interference from my nosy travel-mate. To please my fondness of walking and taking pictures. Sounds selfish, eh? Hahahaha. I just took the moment, to have a journey of self-discovery on your 25th birthday seems pretty normal. Right?

Ten days being away and in a place where you’re a minority perhaps something that you’re not wish for on your birthday. But that was perfect for me. I learned a lot. Like A LOT. I get to know myself more through meeting other people and overcoming every crisis only by myself. Have I told you that I became more religious when I traveled? And in a country where muslims are rarely to be found. To find a place to do prayer and to eat a halal food has its own adventure.

After 2 weeks and back to normal life, I kinda miss days I spent in Japan. But I miss the time when I walked on its big pedestrian way the most. Something that is so precious in Jakarta.

Well, I hope days of contemplating (hahahaha) in Kobe, Kyoto, Osaka, Nara, Tokyo, and Nagoya will affect my life in a good way.

Oh, I brought you some souvenirs. Taken from my own camera. Enjoy! :p

Finally! Akiko-chan, Mariko-chan, and Masa-kun are my friend's friend. Thanks to Febry that I could met these superb friends of him.

Finally! Akiko-chan, Mariko-chan, and Masa-kun are my friend’s friend. Thanks to Febry that I could met these superb friends of him. This photo kinda awkward though. Hahahaha. *Taken from Mariko’s camera*

Autumn in Noritake Garden, Nagoya

Autumn in Noritake Garden, Nagoya

He helped me to find Arashiyama Bamboo Grove. Typical local who goes out for jogging every afternoon around Arashiyama.

He helped me to find Arashiyama Bamboo Grove. Typical local who goes out for jogging every afternoon around Arashiyama.

5 comments

  1. Sarashanti · · Reply

    pokoknya ultah 25 mau jibun sagashi juga kayak ente

    1. Yang jauh yas! Rusia gitu. Biar pol pencarian jati dirinya. Hahahaha.

  2. Sarashanti · · Reply

    AAMIIN…..mau banget ke Rusia kakaaaak haha

  3. Hai selamat ulang tahun. 🙂

    Suka baca tulisan-tulisannya, sangat personal dan menarik sekali.

    1. Waaa, terima kasih kak!

      Senang kalau tulisannya ternyata (ada yang) dibaca dan menarik. hahaha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cita - Cita Sumberdaya

view of an independent mind

rifqi ismiraj's personal page

My Perspective to the Environment

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

ankarana renva

Terimakasih sudah mampir.. Dan beritahu yang lainya kalau saya punya blog..!

S A S T R I

In Sanskrit, Shastri means "man of learning".

Explore the World

“jangan kikir dalam berfikir, jangan komentar kalau tidak bernalar, jangan pernah lempar panah tanpa sasaran. LIHAT, DENGAR, dan RASAKAN.”

@EnglishTips4U

Indonesia's first and only Twitter-based English learning portal

README.TXT

selamat membaca saya, nisa :)

Othervisions

there's a life beyond our life, so go out there

TRIP TO TRIP

Cerita Perjalanan Backpacker Asia

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

